I have just come across a very interesting sales technique or a scam, I can't make up my mind yet.
I am in the process of setting up a sister company to myPA called BRG Recruitment. We are going to offer recruitment services in the Oxfordshire, Berkshire, Wiltshire areas. Our aim is to provide placements for office staff.
This morning I received an email from a Hong Kong firm saying:
Dear CEO/Manager,
We are a Global Domain Name Registration Centre in Hong Kong, mainly dealing with domain name registration and internet intellectual property rights protection. On February.2,2010 we received a formal application from a local company of your country who is applying to register some domain names with the keyword “brgrecruitment ” and register it as their keyword. After investigation, we find that you are the original user of the keyword. As this refers to your company name or trade mark, according to our policy, to avoid the confusion and dispute on the internet, we are responsible to inform you and would like to know your ideas. If you agree about this issue, we will finish the third company's registration. If you don't agree the third company’s registration, please inform me. I’m looking forward to your reply. Thanks for your understanding and cooperation.
I contacted these people to say that its my company name. I got a very nice email back asking me if I wanted to buy some additional domain names, .com, eu, hk, de, ae, .com.au, .org.uk etc.
Like I said, an interesting sales email or a scam. Not sure yet.